1. Home
  2. Cape Ann dogs
  3. Newburyport dog license: fee, deadline and where to get it

Newburyport rules

Newburyport dog license: fee, deadline and where to get it

Newburyport has turned the dog license into an online errand with the tag sent by post, which makes it easy to put off. The city's own pages also put two different dates on lateness, so it pays to know both. Here is where to apply, what to upload, how the late charges stack up, and why we ask for the license before a first daycare day.

A blue merle Australian Shepherd stands in tall green grass under a sunny sky.

Where to apply

Apply online to the City Clerk at 60 Pleasant Street, or at the counter if you must

The City Clerk's Office licenses Newburyport dogs from City Hall at 60 Pleasant Street, with P.O. Box 550 as its mailing address and (978) 465-4407 as its phone line. The clerk's page says license and renewal applications are taken online, and in person only if necessary, which is the city's way of steering owners to the web portal. The online form lets you upload every document with the application, and once the clerk has the form, the paperwork and the payment, the license and the tag are mailed to you.

If you would rather hand the paperwork over, Newburyport City Hall keeps hours of 8 to 4 from Monday through Wednesday, 8 to 7 on Thursday and 8 to noon on Friday, at the time of writing. Thursday evening is the only slot that suits most commuters. Section 3-27 of the city code says every dog six months old or older must be licensed and tagged, and it gives the job to the clerk's office, not to animal control or to your vet.

  • Online: the city's portal, with documents uploaded alongside the form
  • In person, if necessary: City Clerk's Office, City Hall, 60 Pleasant Street
  • Clerk's phone: (978) 465-4407
  • Who must be licensed: every dog six months old or older

What you need

A vet's rabies certificate with its expiration date, or the application stops

The one document Newburyport insists on is a rabies certificate from a veterinarian that shows when the current vaccination expires. The clerk's page is blunt about it: without that certificate the city cannot process the application. A metal rabies tag on the collar or a line on a clinic invoice is not the same thing, so ask your vet for the certificate itself, ideally as a PDF you can upload in one step.

The fee turns on one question, whether the dog is spayed or neutered. At the time of writing it is $10 if so and $15 if not, the same figures printed in the municipal fee schedule at the back of the city code. Owners who are 65 or older and show proof of age owe no license fee at all, and a dog trained to guide or assist a person with a disability is licensed free of charge as well.

  • A rabies certificate that shows the expiration date
  • Spay or neuter status, which sets the fee at $10 or $15
  • Proof of age if you are 65 or older and claiming the exemption
  • Assistance dogs: licensed by the clerk without a fee

Deadlines

Due April 1, a late fee from June 1, and code fines from September 1

The license is due by April 1 each year, and the clerk's page says any renewal registered from June 1 onward incurs a late fee. That page does not state how much the late fee is, so ask the clerk before you count on a figure. In practice the city leaves about two months between the due date and the first late charge, but that gap is the city's policy, published on its own page, and it can change from one year to the next.

The city code adds a second layer for a dog that stays unlicensed. Section 3-27 fines the owner $10 per dog after September 1, $20 after October 1 and $30 after November 1, each on top of the license fee itself. A $10 license left until November can therefore cost four times as much. The senior exemption does not reach these charges: the code says late fees still apply to owners who license for free.

Newburyport license itemAt the time of writingWhere it is published
Due dateApril 1 each yearClerk's page and city code
Spayed or neutered dog$10Clerk's page and fee schedule
Dog not spayed or neutered$15Clerk's page and fee schedule
Renewal registered from June 1Late fee; amount not statedClerk's page
Still unlicensed after September 1, October 1, November 1$10, $20, $30 per dog, plus the feeCity code, section 3-27
Owner aged 65 or olderNo fee; late charges still applyCity code, section 3-27
A Dogtown staff member with a big fluffy white dog in the outdoor play yard in Gloucester

Why we ask

Dogtown checks the Newburyport license and the vaccine records at the free evaluation

A Newburyport dog joining a daycare playgroup, a Dogtown Academy day, an overnight stay or an at-home walk needs a current license from its home city plus Rabies, DHPP and Bordetella records on file with us. We collect all of it once, at the free evaluation, which takes place on weekday mornings between 6:30 and 9:30 AM by appointment at 210 Eastern Ave in Gloucester. A bath or a full groom needs none of this paperwork, because grooming has no evaluation.

The license matters to us for a practical reason. Newburyport issues it only against a current rabies certificate, so a valid tag tells our front desk that the most important vaccine is in date, and it puts a city number on the collar of a dog that is a long way from home. Newburyport is outside the four Pup Van towns of Rockport, Gloucester, Essex and Manchester-by-the-Sea, so ask us about pick-up; our Newburyport page covers the drive.

  1. 01

    Look at the expiration date on the rabies certificate in February or March

  2. 02

    Book a booster with your vet if the certificate lapses before April 1

  3. 03

    Apply on the city's portal by April 1 and upload the certificate

  4. 04

    Clip the new tag on when it arrives in the mail

  5. 05

    Bring the license and the Rabies, DHPP and Bordetella records to your Dogtown evaluation

With the tag

The license is also the entry ticket to Newburyport's three off-leash areas

Newburyport ties its off-leash privileges to the license. Under section 3-26 of the code, any dog in Cashman Park, Moseley Woods or March's Hill, leashed or not, must be licensed and vaccinated as the law requires. Cashman Park allows dogs off leash from 7:30 to 9 AM and from 4 to 7 PM, Moseley Woods and March's Hill from dawn to dusk, with playgrounds, courts, fields and picnic areas excluded and no loose dogs on March's Hill while children are sledding.

Off those three areas the rule is a firm leash anywhere beyond your own property, with fines of $50, $75 and $100 for a first, second and later offense. Inside them, a puppy under four months stays on its leash, a female in season stays out, and one owner may have no more than two dogs loose at a time. Plum Island is a separate question with its own calendar, covered on our Plum Island beach page.

  • Cashman Park: off leash 7:30 to 9 AM and 4 to 7 PM
  • Moseley Woods and March's Hill: off leash dawn to dusk
  • Licensed and vaccinated dogs only, on leash or off
  • Two loose dogs per owner at most; $50 for breaking a park rule

At Dogtown

What a Newburyport license opens at Dogtown

One free evaluation in Gloucester, then matched daycare playgroups or an overnight suite for a licensed, vaccinated dog.

Every price on one page

Asked and answered

Questions people ask about this

Short, complete answers you can act on today. More in the full FAQ.

How much is a dog license in Newburyport, MA?
At the time of writing, $10 a year for a spayed or neutered dog and $15 for a dog that is not, the figures on both the clerk's page and the city's fee schedule. Owners aged 65 or older who show proof of age pay no fee, though late charges still apply to them, and assistance dogs are licensed free.
When is the Newburyport dog license late?
The license is due April 1, and the clerk's page says renewals registered from June 1 onward incur a late fee, without naming the amount. Separately, the city code fines the owner of a still-unlicensed dog $10 after September 1, $20 after October 1 and $30 after November 1, on top of the fee. Ask the clerk which charges apply to you.
Can I renew a Newburyport dog license online?
Yes. The City Clerk's Office takes license and renewal applications online, and in person only if necessary. Upload the rabies certificate with the form, pay, and the city mails the license and tag to you. If you prefer the counter, City Hall at 60 Pleasant Street stays open until 7 PM on Thursdays.
Does my puppy need a Newburyport license?
The city code requires a license for every dog six months old or older, and the clerk needs a current rabies certificate to issue one. Dogtown asks for a current license at the evaluation, so if your puppy is younger than that, ask our front desk how we handle its paperwork before you book the first visit.
Will Dogtown accept a Newburyport dog license?
Yes. A current license from any city or town meets our requirement. Bring it to the free evaluation, on a weekday between 6:30 and 9:30 AM, with Rabies, DHPP and Bordetella records. Grooming appointments need no evaluation, so a Newburyport dog can book a bath straight away.

More questions? Read the full FAQ

Sources

Rules and dates change. We re-check every beach, licensing and ordinance page each spring and fall; the source above is the current word.

Next step

Newburyport tag in hand, first visit booked.

Bring the city license and the vaccine records to a free weekday-morning evaluation at 210 Eastern Ave, and your dog's file is complete in one visit.

  1. 01Free evaluationWeekdays 6:30 – 9:30 AM
  2. 02Book a dayOnline, in the app or by phone
  3. 03Play, rest, repeatReport card at pick-up

Follow along

Daily photos and report cards.

Call Book now